Planning Board

The Planning Board is responsible for administration of the Subdivision Control Laws as set forth in Massachusetts General laws Chapter 41 and the Truro Rules and Regulations Governing the Subdivision of Land. The Planning Board also is the Special Permit Granting Authority for Communication Structures, Wind Generators, Large-Scale Ground-Mounted Photovoltaic Arrays and Affordable Accessory Dwelling Units and the Board issues permits for Temporary Signs.

Actions of the Board During the COVID-19 State of Emergency

As you may know, restrictions on public gatherings have been imposed due to the public health threat posed by COVID-19 by order of the Governor, and the Truro Planning Board is holding all meetings remotely. 

Any submittals relating to new or existing applications that require filing with the Town Clerk must be sent via Certified Mail or deposited in the drop box located at the northerly entrance to Town Hall (adjacent to the Clerk’s office and facing the DPW facility). Please make sure that your contact information and payment are clearly attached to your submission which should include the required copies of the application, plans and attachments. Please also submit an electronic copy of same to

The Board will hold public hearings and handle administrative matters (such as the endorsement of ANR plans) in accordance with the Governor’s “Order Suspending Certain Provisions of the Open Meeting Law, G.L. c. 30A, §20,” issued on March 12, 2020, and all subsequent Orders affecting public gatherings and remote hearings.

*****There is now a live GoToMeeting link highlighted within the Agenda – just click on this link and it will bring you directly into the GoToMeeting.  OR go to the Truro homepage (, click on the meeting date in the Event Calendar, click on the Planning Board meeting title, and then click on the GoToMeeting link.  Remember to mute your computer/TV if you are watching and dialing in via phone.*****

***NEW - News & Announcements: additional materials may be added to the packet prior to the Hearing date***

Contact Barbara Carboni, Town Planner and Land Use Counsel, at or (508) 214-0928 with questions.

Board Members

Name Title
R. Bruce Boleyn Member-Appointment expires ATE 2023
Caitlin Townsend Member-Appointment expires ATE 2027
Jack Riemer Clerk-Appointment expires-ATE 2025
Anne Greenbaum Chair-Appointment expires ATE 2024
Paul Kiernan Member-Appointment expires ATE 2025
Ellery Althaus Member-Appointment expires ATE 2026
Richard Roberts Vice Chair-Appointment expires ATE 2026