
 
RULE AND ORDER REQUIRING THE USE OF MASKS AND OTHER PROTECTIVE 

MEASURES:  AMENDED 2-15-2022 
 

Pursuant to the Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 111, Sections 31 and 122, 310 CMR 
11.05, 105 CMR 300.200 and all other authorizing statutes and regulations, we, the members of 
the Truro Board of Health hereby order the following:  
 

1. In addition to physical distancing and in a continued effort to protect the Public Health, 
all members of the public entering any municipal building must continue to wear a cloth 
face covering that covers their nose and mouth, such as a fabric or surgical mask in 
addition to practicing physical distancing.  Wearing a mask is not a substitute for 
maintaining 6 feet of physical distancing. 
 

2. The indoor mask mandate for businesses and other indoor spaces will transition to a 
voluntary program based on the continued decrease in the incidence and prevalence of 
cases of COVID-19, improved availability of testing and improved availability of 
COVID-19 vaccines for Truro residents and visitors. 
 

3. The Board of Health recognizes that business establishments in Truro may choose to 
require the public to mask in order to mitigate impacts from high volumes of customers 
and/or address situations where physical distancing is difficult, to better protect their staff 
and vulnerable members of the public and extends this Order to support those 
establishments. 
 
 

4. The Board of Health continues to advise that a fully vaccinated person wear a mask or 
face covering when indoors (and not in your own home) if you have a weakened immune 
system, or if you are at increased risk for severe disease because of your age or an 
underlying medical condition, or if someone in your household has a weakened immune 
system, is at increased risk for severe disease or is unvaccinated. 

 
5. For individuals who are not fully vaccinated, it is important that you continue to wear a 

face covering or mask to help prevent you from spreading COVID-19 to other people. 
 

6. The face covering requirements of this Order for municipal buildings shall be in place 
until it is rescinded by the Board of Health. It will be reconsidered on March 1, 2022, and 
as conditions warrant. 

 
7. Notwithstanding any provision in this Order, pursuant to guidance issued by the CDC 

face coverings should not be placed on young children under 2-years-old, anyone who 
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has trouble breathing, anyone who is unconscious, incapacitated or otherwise unable to 
remove the mask without assistance, or anyone who due to disability is unable to wear a 
mask. 

 
8. To the extent necessary, this Order shall be enforced by the Truro Health Agent, assistant 

Health Agent and Truro Police Officers. Whoever violates any provision of this Order 
may be penalized by a noncriminal disposition process as provided in Massachusetts 
General Laws, Chapter 40, section 21D and the Town's non-criminal disposition by-law. 
If non-criminal disposition is elected, then any person who violates any provision of this 
Regulation shall be subject to for a first offense, a written warning; for a second offense, 
a penalty in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100), for a third offense, a penalty of 
two hundred dollars ($200); and for a fourth or subsequent offense, a penalty in the 
amount of three hundred dollars ($300.00).  Each day or portion thereof shall constitute a 
separate offense. If more than one, each condition violated shall constitute a separate 
offense.  

 
This Order, as amended shall be effective beginning February 16, 2022, and remain in effect 
until further notice is given and pursuant to the Truro Board of Health’s judgement that the 
Public Health Emergency no longer exists. 
                                                                         __________________________________ 

Tracey Rose, Chair of Truro Board of Health 


