
WILDLIFE PROTECTION 
Piping Plovers, Terns and other endangered birds nest along the beaches in Truro. Periodically, areas of beach 

and the O.R.V. corridor may be restricted to the public. All drivers in the O.R.V. corridor must obey posted signs. 

ABSOLUTELY NO DOGS OR OTHER ANIMALS ALLOWED IN PROTECTED AREAS. Piping plovers are 

protected by State and Federal Law. It is the intention of our town to provide a safe environment to help these 

endangered species. Your cooperation and respect is greatly appreciated. Refunds will not be granted due to lim-

ited driving corridor created by protected wildlife. 

TRURO  O.R.V. 
2014 O.R.V. Regulations 

PROTECTING THE DUNES 
Despite their hearty appearance, the dunes are remarka-

bly fragile. Beach grass anchors the shifting sands of the 

dunes, protecting the beaches from erosion. Please keep to 

the established paths and observe the rights of private 

property owners. Climbing or biking on the dunes is dan-

gerous and is prohibited on all of the Truro Town Beach-

es. 

BEACH OFFICE 

36 Shore Rd, Route 6A 

North Truro, MA 02652 

(508)487-6983 

 

OFFICE HOURS 

8:00 AM - 4:00 PM 

Everyday 

June 14, 2014 - Sept. 1, 2014 

 

Visit Us Online 

www.truro-ma.gov/recreation 

O.R.V. STICKER FEES  

 Truro 

  Residents 

 
Non-Residents 

Season $10.00  $30.00 

DANGEROUS MARINE LIFE 
Please remember that the ocean waters are home to a variety of potentially hazardous marine life to include seals, jellyfish, sharks, etc. In the past decade the Cape Cod region, espe-

cially Truro, has observed an increased population of grey and harbor seals. The region has become home to many of the seals for several months every year. The increased seal pop-

ulation has attracted great white sharks, which depend on seals as the staple of their diet. Please remember to use caution when swimming and follow some basic guidelines.   

If you believe you view a shark and you’re at a beach with a lifeguard, report the sighting to the lifeguard. If there isn’t a lifeguard on duty, report the sighting to the local law en-

forcement as soon as practical - Truro Police Department (508)487-8730. If someone is in the water, get their attention and call them out of the water. 

 Do Not Swim Near Seals  Swim Close To Shore 

 Do Not Swim Alone  Avoid Swimming At Dusk/Dawn 

RECOMMENDATIONS FOR BEACH DRIVING 

 Check local tidal charts prior to  arriving, low tide is ideal for driving. 

 Friction may cause pressure to increase while you drive, making it necessary to stop and reduce pressure again. Your beginning tire pressure should not exceed 15 p.s.i.  

 Avoid driving through the surf. Salt water is extremely corrosive. 

 Most All Wheel Drive vehicles are not recommended due to low clearance. 

 Right of Way & Safety: When two vehicles meet on the beach, the operator of the vehicle with the water on the right has the right of way. Riding on fenders, tailgate, roof, or 

any exterior portion of a vehicle is prohibited. 

SALT WATER FISHING 
Who needs the MA Recreational Saltwater Fishing Permit? 

In order to fish recreationally for finfish in Massachusetts marine waters, including up to the first upstream bridge in rivers and streams that flow to the ocean saltwater fishermen must have: a 

MA Recreational Saltwater Fishing permit, or a recreational saltwater fishing permit from a state that has a reciprocity agreement with Massachusetts. As of February 17, 2011, Massachusetts 

has reciprocity agreements with: New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Connecticut. 

What is the cost of the MA Permit? The annual cost for both residents and non-residents is $10 for ages 16 - 59, 60 & older - no fee 

Who does not need a permit? No permit is required for: fishermen who are under 16 years of age; fishermen fishing on permitted for-hire vessels; fishermen who regardless of their age, other-

wise meet the definition of a disabled person in M.G.L. c. 19C 

What about people 60 and older? People 60 and older must obtain a permit but the permit is free for these individuals (although a small fee will be charged by the vendor to process the per-

mit through the internet).  



The Town of Truro boasts eleven beautiful town beaches. Parking spaces at all town beaches are limited and is restricted to those vehicles bearing a valid Beach parking  sticker.  The Off Road Vehi-

cle Corridor is located on the Bay side with access points at Fisher Beach, Corn Hill Beach and Beach Point Landing (seasonally). Properly affixed O.R.V. Stickers are required  year round for all 

vehicles on the O.R.V. Corridor. From the third Saturday in June to Labor Day, access to the O.R.V.  Corridor is permitted between the hours of 6:00pm—9:00pm. From September 2nd, 2014 to June 

19th, 2015 access to the O.R.V. Corridor is permitted 24 hours daily. 

Welcome to Truro... 

BEACH STICKERS 

Parking spaces at all town beaches are limited and is restricted to 

those vehicles bearing a valid Beach Parking Sticker.  Beach Stick-

ers can be obtained at the Truro Beach Office at 36 Shore Rd, 

North Truro. See Beach Rules and Regulations. 

FIRE PERMITS 

In order to have a beach fire you must obtain a beach fire per-

mit. Permits can be obtained online at www.activityreg.com or 

O.R.V. RULES & REGULATIONS 

 Drop tire pressure to 11 p.s.i prior to entering O.R.V. corridor. 

 O.R.V. stickers required year round.  Stickers must be permanently affixed to the driver’s side, front bumper of the vehicle to which it is registered (stickers are non-transferable). 

 Stickers which are altered, defaced, copied or made unreadable are not valid. 

 If your vehicle becomes stuck in the sand, you are responsible for filling in all ruts or holes and removing debris used to extricate the vehicle.  

 Dumping trash and other debris is prohibited. Please leave no trace by packing out what you pack in.  

 The driving corridor is below the high tide water marks. At no time will a vehicle drive or park on beach grass, coastal dunes, coastal embankment, marsh or shorebird nesting area. 

 Pedestrians and those who are sitting on the beach always have the right of way. 

 Use caution at all times. 

 Observe the speed limit - 15 MPH. 

 NO ATVS. 

 Pets are prohibited on the beach during the hours of 9:00am - 6:00pm. 

 All pet waste must be disposed of. Pet waste dispensers are provided at the main entrances of most bayside beaches. 

 Leaving pets in a hot vehicle may constitute criminal animal cruelty pursuant to Mass. General Laws Chapter 272 Section 77.   

 No Camping or Sleeping on beaches or in parking areas. 

 NO FIRES without a valid beach fire permit. 

  

VIOLATION OF ANY OF THE ABOVE RULES AND REGULATIONS WILL RESULT IN THE LOSS OF STICKER(S), A FINE, OR BOTH. 

PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

 Tire Gauge with a minimum reading of 5lbs. 

 Tow device 14 feet or greater in length. Minimum materials are as follows: 

 Chain and cable must be equipped with suitable attaching devices on both ends. 

 Jack support must be a minimum of 10” wide by 12” long. Thickness - Plywood: 5/8” or greater. Solid wood 1 1/2” or greater. Other materials must be at least as strong and du-

rable as the standard wood support. 

 Heavy Duty Shovel 

 Standard Jack– Vehicle Manufacture’s Jack 

 Minimum tire standards (spare tire must also meet these standards): 

All tires must have a minimum profile series of 70 

 Chain 5/16”  Cable 1/4”  Hemp 1”  Nylon 3/4”  Tow Strap 1 1/2” wide 

13” Rim = 185 14” Rim = 195 15” Rims or larger = 225 
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